szk 001

Risaku Suzuki
“Stream of consciousness”

The official catalogue of the exhibition “Risaku Suzuki: Stream of consciousness.”

Kagawa: Genichiro-Inokuma Museum of Contemporary Art / Feb 1─May 31, 2015

Tokyo: Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery / July 18─Sept 23, 2015

Presenting around 80 photographs and three films that are mostly new or never-exhibited, “Risaku Suzuki: Stream of consciousness” is the first large-scale solo exhibition by the artist since “Kumano, Yuki, Sakura,” held at Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography in 2007.

New pieces belonging to the existing series “Between the Sea and the Mountain,” “SAKURA,” “White,” and “Étude,” prove that his work is still in the process of deepening and intensifying to various directions, including development into the form of film. Exhibited for the first time, the new series “Water Mirror” offers a glimpse of his new approaches toward space and time.

Including a rich variety of texts (essays and conversations) and plates of not only the exhibited but also other works by the artist, this book “Stream of consciousness” is much more than a catalogue to complement the exhibition, but an invaluable monograph of the artist, providing a comprehensive view of his creation today.

This book is in two different bindings: the white cloth-bound version is only available at the museum, while the other, red cloth-bound version can be found elsewhere. The former has three variations with different plates glued to the front cover, while the latter is accompanied by an A5 postcard.


Text 1_Stream of Consciousness / Risaku Suzuki

Text 2_Abandonment and Presistence: Risaku Suzuki’s Photography / Minoru Shimizu

Plates 1_Between the Sea and the Mountain – Kumano

Text 3_The Landscape Photography of Risaku Suzuki / Keiji Ueshima

Plates 2_SAKURA

Text 4_For the Photographic Experience / Talk: Shino Kuraishi × Risaku Suzuki

Plates 3_White

Plates 4_Water Mirror

Plates 5_Étude

Text 5_A Mirror of Vision: The Photography of Risaku Suzuki / Yuki Sayama

Text 6_Inexhaustible Beauty / Kanako Furuno

List of Works



Edited by: Risaku Suzuki / Kanako Furuno / Madoka Matsumura / Yuki Sayama

Texts: Risaku Suzuki / Minoru Shimizu / Keiji Ueshima / Shino Kuraishi / Yuki Sayama / Kanako Furuno

Translation: Masaaki Tsukiji / D. Max Moerman / Lucy North / Brian Amstutz

Design: Shin Akiyama+Kaori Suzuki / Edition Nord

Printed and bound by: SunM Color Co., Ltd.

Publication date: 1 February 2015

297 x 224mm / 258 pages / 151 color plates

Clothbound hardcover with tipped-in image

Price: white version; SOLD OUT | 4500yen / red version; 8000yen

szk 001 / first edition of 1700 copies

Images © 2015 Risaku Suzuki / Courtesy of Gallery Koyanagi

Texts © 2015 The authors for their text

All rights reserved.

Printed and bound in Japan


  • Your Cart >>
  • 297 x 224mm
    258 pages
    151 color plates
    Clothbound hardcover with
    tipped-in image
    first edition of 1700 copies
    white version; 4500yen
    red version; 8000yen